L. Ward Abel’s work has appeared in Rattle, The Reader, The Istanbul Review, The Worcester Review, The Honest Ulsterman, Versal, and hundreds of others. Ward is the author of three full collections and ten chapbooks of poetry, including: 

Jonesing For Byzantium 

(UKA Press, 2006), 

American Bruise 

(Parallel Press, 2012), 

Little Town gods 

(Folded Word Press, 2016), 

A Jerusalem of Ponds 

(erbacce-Press, 2016), 

The Rainflock Sings Again 

(Unsolicited Press, 2019), 

Floodlit (Beakful, 2019), 

The Width of Here 

(Silver Bow, 2021)


L. Ward Abel’s poetry has created a world that hovers between silence and high intensity using the imagery of his native rural Georgia as a vehicle, exploring such diverse concepts as the sound a falling limb makes along with real or perceived threats to our civilization, weaving in and out of personal observations, fears and hope.  In the process, besides the poet discovering his own perspectives, concerns, and a life that “conjures death, replicating, crowding out what it brings and dispatches,” he gives the reader a multifaceted approach to a simple concept of trying to live peacefully in our tumultuous environment. 

avaialable in Libraries 


and Silver Bow Store